Tom Hessert Eyes DuQuoin’s ‘Magic Mile’ Night Race Labor Day Weekend
Posted August 25, 2016
August 24, 2016

TOLEDO, Ohio (August 24, 2016) – It’s been almost 20 years since the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards lined up at night on a dirt track, but that will soon change when the lights shine down on the 63rd running of the General Tire GRABBER 100 at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds Sunday, September 4.

Series veteran Tom Hessert likes the idea a lot.

“I was thinking about that yesterday…it’s going to be very interesting to see how that shakes out,” said Hessert, who finished third at DuQuoin last year.

“We’re not used to those tracks holding moisture. I think it’s going to be a better show all the way around. Everything looks better under the lights.”

The last time the ARCA tour last competed on a dirt track at night, under the lights was July 12, 1997 at West Virginia Motor Speedway – Frank Kimmel the race winner.

Hessert is a perennial top-five finisher at both Springfield and DuQuoin mile dirt tracks. He has twice finished second at DuQuoin in 2010 and 2013.

“A couple years ago when we had all that rain at Springfield and the Silver Crown race got cancelled the day before, the track stayed really heavy all the way through. The race was phenomenal…much better race I thought. And that’s what you’re more likely to get at night. “It’s going to be fun. I don’t know if we’ll race around the top like the Silver Crown cars do, but you never know. You can definitely slide the car around more with moisture in the track. It’s going to be pretty awesome. It’s definitely going to make the place racier, and if it does that, it’s the right way to go.”

2015 ARCA national champion driver Grant Enfinger is the most recent ARCA winner at DuQuoin, winning back-to-back in 2014 and 2015.

Past Championship Stock Car Winners at DuQuoin
The past winners list of the General Tire Grabber 100 includes some of the most widely-recognized names in American motorsports. Jay Frank won the inaugural Southern Illinois 100 in 1950. Just some of the winners who would follow include Marshall Teague, Indy 500 winners Jimmy Bryan and AJ Foyt, Fred Lorenzen, Don White, Norm Nelson, Jack Bowsher, NASCAR champions Rusty Wallace and Tony Stewart, Bob Keselowski, Billy Thomas, Ken Schrader, Parker Kligerman, Chris Buescher and Grant Enfinger.

Raceday Schedule
Practice for the September 4 General Tire Grabber 100 is scheduled from 2:30 - 3:30 p.m., with Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell following at 5:30. The 63rd General Tire Grabber 100 starts at 8:00. All times are local.

Media Coverage
The race will be tape-delayed on the American Sports Network. The race will also feature live timing and scoring and live chat for all on-track activity at, as well as live flag-to-flag audio race coverage.

©2016 Tom Hessert. All Rights Reserved